A photographic reflection on adulthood

Hey, remember when you were a kid, and you thought about what it would be like when you were a grown-up?  Able to take responsibility for your own life and eat however much dessert you want and stay up late and stuff?

And play with toys!  All the toys!  All the time!
And play with toys! All the toys! All the time!

But then you actually grow up and it’s like:  Oh my gosh.  I have to take responsibility for my own life.  I have to make choices.  Some of them may be extremely poor choices.  And I will have to deal with the consequences.

I'm not getting out of bed.  You cannot make me face the world.
I’m not getting out of bed. You cannot make me face the world.

In order to cope with this, you find yourself eating a lot of chocolate, and Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream, and chocolate Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream, and also not sleeping because you’re up late worrying, although in reality the insomnia is probably only half-caused by worry, the other half being due to the buttload of sugar you ate right before bed while watching reality TV shows because by comparison with those people, you’ve really got your shit together.

I ates all the chocolate.
I ates all the chocolate.  It was not enough.

And then comes that glorious moment somewhere in your mid-twenties when you realize: your childhood self was dead on target.  Adulthood is everything you dreamed it would be: responsibility, dessert, and staying up late.

Isn’t it wonderful?

Don't make me go out there.
Don’t make me go out there.

This post is brought to you by a set of reflections brought on by the fact that today, the U.S. Dept of Education judged that I was competent to take on the responsibility of repaying thousands of dollars of student loans, while just a few hours before I nearly managed to set the kitchen on fire by boiling water.  Discuss.

One Reply to “A photographic reflection on adulthood”

  1. Same quandary- husband and I want to have a baby, raise a life and be responsible for it. Also just burned an entire pot of Kraft Mac & Cheese at lunch.

Leave a Reply

