Seminary Carols

In a blessed break from the end-of-semester grind, I went caroling tonight with the Mother Schmuckers (women’s a capella group named for our seminary’s founder) and friends to professors and staff who live on or close to the seminary campus.  It was a WONDERFUL time!  One of the people who came and sang sad, “That really felt like Christmas.”  And it did.  There were carols and cookies and smiles and uplifted spirits not even remotely dampened by the rain.  Thank the Lord for the infinite variety of activities in this community.

We wrote up some seminary specific lyrics, which I post here for your enjoyment!

Go Tell It on South Mountain

Go tell it on South Mountain
Over the ridge and everywhere!
Go tell it on South Mountain
The semester’s almost o’er!
While teachers start their grading
Deciding “fail” or “pass”
A cry rings through the campus
“I’m almost done with class!”
Go tell it on South Mountain
Over the ridge and everywhere!
Go tell it on South Mountain
The semester’s almost o’er!
 The students fear and tremble
With deadlines pressing near
And try to ignore their longing
To drink Nun’s Delight beer
 Go tell it on South Mountain
Over the ridge and everywhere!
Go tell it on South Mountain
The semester’s almost o’er!
 Down in the chapel service
We gather for to pray
That God will hear our struggles
And bring us to that happy day:
 Go tell it on South Mountain
Over the ridge and everywhere!
Go tell it on South Mountain
The semester’s finally o’er!
 
The Angel Gabriel

(Lyrics based on a lecture by Dr. Richard Carlson)

 The angel Gabriel from heaven came
To Zechariah, he of Temple fame:
“You and your wife will bear a son
John to be named,
There will be much rejoicing.  Gloria!
 The old priest voiced the doubt he felt inside:
He and Liz were just too ancient, he implied.
Total wrong response, my friend, the angel cried,
As he struck the high priest silent,
Mm, mmmm mmm mmmmm…mm mm!
The angel Gabriel must try once more:
Despite their doubts they’re getting a savior!
So he went and knocked up, sorry, knocked ON Mary’s door!
“Howdy, gracified girl!”  Gloria!
That girl, how greatly mystified was she:
“I am not knowing man! How can this be?”
“The Holy Spirit’s got it, girl, so don’t worry:
God’s “rhema” won’t be impossible, Gloria!
Then gentle Mary became quite pensive
Pond’ring the angel’s double negative
Then she said: “Behold, I am the Lord’s slavegirl!”
Be the future as you said!”  Gloria!
 
O little town of Beit-le-CHem
(Make sure to get the hocking noise)
O little town of Beit-le-CHem
None can pronounce thee right
Thy name is true-ly good Hebrew
And we are far too white.
And yet we’ll try our bestest
And eat more milk and cheese
With increased phlegm we’ll get that “CHem”
And Marty Stevens [our Hebrew prof] please
 For “CH-em” is born of letter “CHeit”
(The sound in German “BaCH”)
At “place of bread” Christ laid his head
When born that Stille NACHT
Before the time of exile
A prophet did foretell
That in this town one would be crowned
Who would rule Yees-rye-ale. (Israel!)
 

I Want a Big Behemoth Beast for Christmas

I want a big behemoth beast for Christmas
Only a big behemoth beast will do
Don’t want a fish that could swallow a whole boy
I want a big behemoth beast to play with and enjoy

I want a big behemoth beast for Christmas
I don’t think Adonai will mind, do you?
God won’t have to waste God’s great creative act,
I’ll love behemoth beast and feed her bullies as a snack!

I can see me now on Christmas morning,
creeping down the stairs!
Oh what joy and what surprise when I open up my eyes
To see a big behemoth standing there

I want a big behemoth beast for Christmas
Only a big behemoth beast will do,
No crocodiles, and no leviathan
Don’t mess this up, or else I’ll sing this silly song again
And make you sing the chorus with me too!

Mom says behemoth would eat me up but then,
God says she eats grass, so she’s a vegetarian!

Her tail’s like a cedar, I really don’t know why
But betcha when she wags it, better not be standing by

I can see me now on Christmas morning, creeping down the stairs!
Oh what joy and what surprise when I open up my eyes
To see a big behemoth standing there

I want a big behemoth beast for Christmas
Only a big behemoth beast will do,
No crocodiles, and no leviathan
Don’t mess this up, or else I’ll sing this silly song again
And make you sing the chorus with me too!

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

One Reply to “Seminary Carols”

Leave a Reply

